When I read about White Barbecue Sauce at The Bitten Word, I was intrigued. I have a love/hate relationship with bottled barbecue sauce. I love barbecue sauce but I hate all the ones that I’ve tried from the grocery store. If you’ve got any suggestions for a good barbecue sauce recipe I’d love to get them.

You won’t find this barbecue sauce at the grocery store around here. I served this along with the Sweet and Spicy Chicken and I wasn’t crazy about the pairing. This sauce would be great with a really garlicky steak, a pulled pork sandwich or on a BLT.  It’s has a cool element with a hint of a bite that isn’t overpowering. I’m starting to think that this would be so completely perfect on a BLT that I want to fry up some bacon right now.

White Barbecue Sauce (from The Bitten Word)

  • 1 1/2  cups  mayonnaise
  • 1/4  cup  white wine vinegar
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 1  Tbsp  coarse ground pepper
  • 1  Tbsp  spicy brown mustard
  • 1  tsp  sugar
  • 1  tsp  salt
  • 2  tsp  horseradish

Stir together all ingredients until well blended. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator up to 1 week.

All the necessary ingredients.

I love the look of the pepper speckled throughout the sauce.

I've started a glass jar collection. This barbecue sauce is currently stored in a marshmallow fluff jar.

