I’ve been on a yogurt kick lately for breakfast. This week I’ve been craving granola with my yogurt but when I looked over what was available at the supermarket none of it appealed to me. Fast forward a few days and I’m flipping through my Martha Stewart’s Cookies book and I notice a granola recipe nestled in with the recipe for Blueberry Bonanza Bars. Here is where I slap myself in the head and say “What have I been thinking?” Of course, there’s the solution… why wouldn’t I think of making my own granola. When I was about seven years old I remember my mom baking granola in the morning and we would get to eat it warm from the oven. I don’t know why I didn’t remember this until now.

So a couple of nights ago I set up to make a batch of granola after the kids were in bed. I was really very excited about it and I was amazed at how easy it was to make. Honestly why would anyone buy granola from the store when you can make at home so quickly and inexpensively. It tastes so much better. I really can’t get enough of it.

Almond-Coconut Granola (adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookie book)

  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Melt butter with honey in a small saucepan over low heat. Add brown sugar, stir until dissolved, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in the water. Stir together oats, almonds, coconut, cinnamon and ginger in a large bowl. Pour butter mixture over oat mixture, stir until combined. Evenly spread out granola on a large rimmed baking sheet. Bake stirring frequently, until golden brown, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool completely on sheet on a wire rack. Granola can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 2 weeks.

The granola before and after baking.

My mother-in-law inspired this great idea of using the candied ginger from my ginger ale in her morning cereal. Adding the chopped up candied ginger to my granola with blueberries over yogurt made my breakfast just excellent.

