This cake is the way into my husband’s heart. It is my sister-in-law’s recipe and she makes it on special occasions for my father-in-law and my husband. I’ve made it myself and when I do it is really good but when she makes it, it’s fantastic. It’s funny how recipes work that way. She made a cake for my father-in-law and he always shares with my husband so I was sent home with about half the cake. My hubby will be so happy.

I made this cake for my daughter’s first birthday and she loved it. Now she won’t even get near it. I even have video of her eating it and she still refuses it.  There’s something about putting vegetables into cake form that makes them wonderful.

Carrot Cake

  • 1 cup raisins
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups shredded carrots (about 5 large carrots)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup drained crushed pineapple
  • 1 cup coconut

In a small bowl pour boiling water over raisins and let stand for 20 minutes. Drain and cool. Meanwhile preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 9×13 pan. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl combine sugar and oil. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Stir in carrots, walnuts, pineapple, coconut and raisins. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan. Frost with cream cheese frosting. (Recipe for frosting below.)

You can choose to leave out any of the following and the cake with still be great; raisins, walnuts, pineapple or coconut. I always add all of them so maybe that's why my cake is different from my sister-in-law's.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups icing sugar

Cream together cream cheese, butter and vanilla. Gradually beat in enough icing sugar to give it a smooth spreadable consistency.

