I’m tired of the same old side dishes when we grill for dinner. We usually have corn and baked potatoes. Tonight I decided to try something new at least for myself. Part of the reason that I’m doing this project is that I get bored of cooking the same things over and over. I had a sweet potato and I knew I wanted to grill it so I did a quick search on the interweb and was inspired by this recipe at Bitchin Camero.

Grilled Sweet Potato with Honey-Lime Ginger Dressing

  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch slices
  • juice from half a lime
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp honey
  • ground chipotle chili pepper
  • fresh ground pepper
  • kosher salt
  • chopped cilantro for garnish

Whisk together the lime juice, ginger, honey and fresh ground pepper for the dressing and set aside.

Partially cook the sweet potato slices until tender to a fork. I microwaved them in water for 5 minutes.

Drain the sweet potato slices and sprinkle with ground chipotle chili pepper and kosher salt.

Place on a hot grill and cook about 5 minutes each side.

Spoon dressing over the grilled sweet potato and garnish with chopped fresh cilantro. I think this might be my new favorite side dish on the grill. It was so easy to throw together.

