Who doesn’t like mac & cheese? I had a babysitter as a kid who made incredible homemade macaroni and cheese but I never attempted a recipe like that before. Boxed mac & cheese is so easy to throw together and the kids love it so much that it has become a regular weekend lunch around here. My kids like the Back to Nature Crazy Bugs version but my husband only likes Kraft Mac & Cheese (or Kraft Dinner as we call it in Canada).

This is one recipe that my daughter requested that I make for her after seeing it at Cooking With My Kid. She also asked that we change the cheddar cheese to mozzarella cheese. I even added crumbled bacon to one side to appease my husband although he didn’t enjoy it very much. The kids both cleaned their plates without any complaining so I view that as a victory.  Next time I’ll make it with a cheese blend and see how they do with that.

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese (adapted from Cooking With My Kid)

  • 3/4 lb elbow macaroni
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 8 oz shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt & fresh pepper
  • cooked bacon, crumbled (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Boil pasta in water with olive oil to al dente (about 6 or 7 mins) and drain. Meanwhile, melt butter in a medium pot and whisk in the flour. The flour sizzles when you add it so make sure to whisk it into the flour very soon  after adding. Begin to stir in the milk and let it simmer for 10 mins. Crack an egg in a separate dish. Temper the egg by taking a spoonful of milk mixture out of the pot, adding it to the egg and whisking. Do this a few more times until you’ve brought the egg to the same temperature as the milk. Then pour the egg (which now has 3 or 4 spoonfuls of milk in it) into the milk mixture. Stir in 3/4 of the cheese and remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper. Mix the macaroni  in with the cheese. Pour it into a 2-quart casserole dish and top with the remaining cheese. Bake for 30 minutes and then let it rest before serving. Serves 8.

It's okay to let the macaroni cool while you mix up the milk and cheese.

It basically looks like soup before you bake it but don't worry it will firm up quite nicely.

Both my kids dug into this without complaint.

