This is the first year that I’ve actually had a yield of tomatoes from my own garden. Actually from a large potted tomato plant from the hardware store but who’s counting. I have loved garden fresh tomatoes since I was a young teenager. I remember my first encounter with garden fresh tomatoes while visiting at a friends house. It was only sliced garden fresh tomatoes sprinkled with salt but I loved them so much that my host went out to their garden about 4 times to get more tomatoes for me. Ever since then I’ve wanted my own tomato plants growing in my yard. I been attempting to grow tomatoes for about 4 years and our annual vacation usually kills the plants before I can get any tomatoes. This year we had a neighbor feed the cat so they also picked my cherry tomatoes and left a bowl full of them on my kitchen counter. It would have been nice if they had also watered the plant because it’s completely brown now but at least I have tomatoes.

One of our fairly common weeknight dinners is calzones. The kids love them and it’s a great way to use extra sauce from a spaghetti dinner. This week I decided to use my cherry tomatoes for something a little different and I was very happy with the results. The lovely thing about preparing calzones is that everyone can have exactly what they want. I add plenty of vegetables for mine while my husband loads up on pepperoni. This time I made pizza for myself and calzones for everyone else. My daughter loves making her own and helping stretch the dough for everyone else.

Cherry Tomato Pizza

  • 1 package pre-made whole wheat pizza dough
  • Tomato sauce
  • Mozzarella cheese, grated
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Red pepper flakes

Stretch out the pizza dough in whatever shape your pan is. I made an oblong shape so it would fit onto the same pan that was cooking the calzones.

Spread tomato sauce over the dough leaving about an inch gap from the edge.

Sprinkle with grated mozzarella cheese.

Cover with cherry tomatoes and sprinkled with red pepper flakes. Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

My favorite thing about this meal was how the tomatoes burst with juice upon touching them with a fork. I brought half of my pizza for lunch the next day at work and a co-worker commented on how cute she thought it was.

