We discovered on vacation that my son LOVES oatcakes. I make oatmeal cookies and he refuses to even try them but he’ll eat 3 oatcakes before I can even notice. Oatcakes are a Cape Breton tradition. The ones in the photo above are from The Dancing Goat and I feel those are the best you can buy. Now that we’re home I wanted to attempt to make some oatcakes just like those. Also we’ve been having trouble getting my son to eat breakfast in the morning so I figured he could eat oatcakes with a glass of milk. This morning it worked with very little reminders to eat. I’m hoping this is just a phase for him and that it’s over soon.

This is my first attempt at my own oatcakes. I have a couple other recipes to try as well and I’ll let you know which one I like the best when I’m done. This recipe is from Minnie MacMaster the mother of a famous Cape Breton fiddler, Natalie MacMaster. We’re big fans and have almost all her CD’s I think.

Cape Breton Oatcakes (adapted from Minnie MacMaster)

  • 1/2  cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Mix all the above together and then put about 3 Tbsp of boiling water in a cup and add 1/2 tsp baking soda to it and pour into the above mixture.  Beat well and add…

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Combine (I needed to chill the dough before rolling) and roll out on a floured counter to the thickness you would prefer. Cut into squares and bake in a 375 oven for about 6 minutes or until they are golden brown.   Watch carefully that they do not burn.

I made mine into hearts. They needed to be reshaped by hand because the whole oats in the recipe made it difficult to cut.

Some variations you could try:
Substitute 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar for the sugar.
Add 1/2 cup rice crispies to this recipe. Or you may add 1/4 cup fine sweetened coconut.

These were lighter and fluffier than the ones from The Dancing Goat. My son declared that they tasted just as good.

The Dancing Goat uses a clean SPAM can as their oatcake cutter. It almost makes me want to buy some SPAM.

Enjoy with a good cup of tea!

