I got my first issue of Everyday Food from my subscription last week. My son brought in the mail that day and he ran back inside all excited saying “Mom, you got a tiny magazine.” Then I was all excited because I got a tiny magazine. So much excitement about food. The last recipe in this month’s issue is for Whole-Wheat Brownies. I wanted my first recipe from my subscription to be one that my family would like. Unfortunately, my son was the only one besides me who ate one of the brownies. He said that he liked it but didn’t ask for more. My daughter was concerned about the applesauce in the recipe and did have one bite and then decided not to eat any more. My husband wasn’t interested.

I brought the balance of the brownies to my office today and they were gone within an hour. That’s always the way with free food in my office. Brownies for breakfast… those are my people.

Whole-Wheat Brownies with Mint (adapted from Everyday Food)

  • 6 Tbsp (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, melted, plus more for pan
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups unsweetened applesauce (2 1/2 small cups of applesauce)
  • 1 large egg
  • 8 oz semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • fresh mint leaves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8-inch square baking dish; line with parchment, leaving a 2-inch overhang on all sides. (Finally, I get why the pan needs to be greased before lining with parchment. I always thought that was completely unneccessary and a waste but now I know that it is so the parchment will stick to the dish.) In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, cocoa, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and mint leaves.

In a large bowl, stir together sugar, applesauce, and egg. Place butter and 6 oz. chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over (not in) a pot of simmering water; stir until melted. (Here is where I took a shortcut I learned from my Mom. Why not use the oven since it’s hot anyway. I put the butter and the chocolate in a Pyrex measuring cup and placed it inside the oven for 5 minutes. It melted and saved me some time and dirty dishes.) Stir chocolate mixture into sugar mixture. Stir in flour mixture. Pour into pan and top with 2 oz. chocolate.

Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, 40 minutes.

Let cool in pan on a wire rack. Use parchment to lift cake from pan and cut into 16 squares. Store in an airtight container, up to 5 days.)

These are a very cake-like brownie.  I prefer a more chewy brownie.

My co-workers were happy with the free brownies.

