The Honey Upside Down Peach Cake from yesterday only used up one and a half peaches so I decided to make peach muffins that day as well. The muffins were inspired by a recipe from Muffin Mania called Sour Cream Pineapple Muffins. I didn’t have any sour cream or pineapple but had plain yogurt and fresh peaches.With all this baking and reading about baking happening in my life I’m starting to learn some common substitutions in recipes. I have never purchased buttermilk for a recipe when some milk and little vinegar will do just fine. Yogurt is pretty much the same thing as sour cream.

While I was pleased with the way these muffins turned out, I was the only one eating them and by the fourth morning of eating peach muffins for breakfast I was tired of them.  Also I thought they could be a little sweeter but many of you will be happy with the small amount of sugar in this recipe.

White Peach Muffins

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I only had 2/3 cup so I added some milk to make up the difference)
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup white peaches, chopped into small cubes

Measure sugar, egg, butter and yogurt into a medium bowl and beat. Stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg to blend in a small bowl. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and stir until moistened.

Stir in peaches to mix. Fill greased muffin cups (I use muffin papers, no greasing needed) and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 medium muffins.

Here are the muffins before and after being baked. I recommend storing these muffins in the fridge because the peaches are still moist after baking and will get moldy if left out.

