This past Sunday I left for a whirlwind trip to an island in the sun and in preparation I needed to clean out my fridge. I was using up anything that I didn’t want to return to in 3 days. That meant the pair of zucchini’s that I had bought at the grocery store the previous week. I also have a giant zucchini from my neighbor’s garden but that was fresh so it will keep for a few more days. My son has become my constant little helper (or shadow) and when I told him my plan for Saturday he said to me “Let’s make some zucchini stuff!” My plan was to bake this lovely cake and a loaf of zucchini bread. Both turned out wonderfully but I froze the bread so I’ll tell you about how it tastes when we pull it out of the freezer.

This cake comes from Sweet and Crumby. She adapted it from David Lebovitz and I adapted it from her. I don’t believe in peeling zucchini because I’m lazy like that and I like seeing the little green bits in the cake. It’s a reminder that there are healthy ingredients in there.

Zucchini Cake with Geni’s Orange Glaze (adapted from Sweet and Crumby)

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups finely grated zucchini
  • 2 tsp freshly grated orange zest

Geni’s Orange Glaze

  • 1/4 cup  juice from a freshly squeezed orange (half a medium orange)
  • 1  1/3 cup powdered sugar

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a bundt pan and flour it well, making sure to cover entire surface by tapping flour around the pan and discarding excess flour by tapping it upside down.  In a large mixing bowl, mix flour through nutmeg and set aside. Add the zucchini and orange zest to the dry ingredients and combine.

In another bowl add eggs, sugar, oil, applesauce and vanilla and beat until light and fluffy.  Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients mixing to incorporate all ingredients.

Pour batter into prepared bundt pan and bake for 40-50 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched and toothpick comes out clean.  Let it cool in the pan until the pan is cool enough to handle (about 15 minutes), then pop the cake out.

While the cake is finishing the baking process, combine your juice from the orange and powdered sugar, whisking briskly until smooth. Let the cake cool before glazing.

My glaze didn’t work out as well as I hoped because I didn’t have enough icing sugar. This would work very well with butter-cream frosting as well. My son was rather disappointed that it didn’t have regular frosting. Note to self: kids will try new things if they have frosting on them.

