Lately I’ve been fascinated by tarts. I could eat a tart every week if my family wouldn’t complain. Although no one else showed any interest in this beautiful tart. That’s okay because after I made it on Thursday night I tried a piece fresh from the oven and then had another piece with my dinner and then another slice for dessert.  Then I took another sizable slice for lunch at work. It was one of those days when I couldn’t wait to heat up my lunch.

This is another recipe inspired by Sweet and Crumby. You can find Geni’s recipe for her Heirloom Tomato Tart here. I had to adjust the recipe a bit because I didn’t have any heirloom tomatoes or Gruyère cheese. My mother-in-law has been sending me home with tomatoes from her garden and I’ve been slicing them up and eating them with salt. When I saw Geni’s recipe and her story about her famous tart I had to try it.

Tomato Tart (adapted from Sweet and Crumby)

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 4 to 5 Tbsp cold water
  • 2 large fresh tomatoes, room temperature
  • 1 Tbsp spicy deli mustard
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

Stir together flour and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in shortening till pieces are pea-size. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of the water over part of the mixture; gently toss with a fork. Push moistened dough to the side of the bowl. Repeat moistening dough, using 1 tablespoon of the water at a time, till all the dough is moistened. Form dough into a ball and allow it to rest 15 minutes.

On a lightly floured surface, use your hands to slightly flatten the dough. Roll dough from center to edges into a circle about 12 inches in diameter.

Transfer rolled dough to the tart pan by draping it over a rolling pin and lifting it into the pan. Fold over the excess dough and crimp with your fingers. Prick the dough all over with a fork.

Line the crust with a piece of foil or parchment paper and use dried beans or pie weights to keep the crust from puffing up while baking. Bake at 450 degrees for 8 minutes. Carefully remove the foil and weights. Bake the crust for another 5 to 6 minutes or until golden.

Spread the spicy deli mustard over the bottom of the crust.

Sprinkle the cheese over the mustard.

Cover with tomato slices in an overlapping pattern. Beat the egg in a small bowl with a small amount of milk and the pepper. Pour over the tomatoes. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes or until the eggs and tomatoes look cooked.

If you can resist this while it’s warm you are better than me.

On a completely different note… I had a small victory today with my daughter, the pickiest one of all. She has been very interested in my blog lately and asks me when I’m cooking if something is going to appear on the blog. She decided tonight that she wanted to try French Toast for the first time. I’m certain that she was influenced by these ideas. And she liked her French Toast and she even ate it with syrup. She was thrilled with her discovery and suggested that we make homemade maple syrup. That might be a little difficult but something to consider. I was very proud and happy that my efforts are starting to pay off.

