I was introduced to Mexican chocolate by a friend from work. She gave a me a box of Ibarra Mexican Chocolate for Christmas one year and I was making myself a mug of hot chocolate almost every night that winter. These cookies have an extra spicy kick to them that does not appeal to everyone. I brought them to a girls night out a while ago and everyone tried them but I was the only one who went back for the second cookie. I also made these for my friend who had given me the Mexican chocolate and she loved them. Her hockey coach also loved them and he has requested them from my husband a few times. So if you are the kind of person to like spicy chocolate these cookies are for you.

Mexican Chocolate Icebox Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 12 Tbsp butter – room temp.
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg

Sift together flour, cocoa, cinnamon, cayenne, salt and pepper in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Beat in vanilla and egg. Gradually add flour mixture until dough is uniform in color and no unmixed flour remains.

Shape in two 9” long logs and wrap tightly in plastic wrap or foil. Make sure your wrapping is airtight. Freeze overnight or up to 6 weeks.

When ready to use, preheat your oven to 375° and slice into 1/4-inch slices and bake for 8-10 minutes. (I sprinkled some sanding sugar on the dough.) Cookies should feel a bit firm at the edges. Store in an airtight container when cool. Makes 4 dozen.

The thing that I love about this recipe besides how great the cookies taste is that I can keep the dough in the freezer for my cravings. I still have some in the freezer from this recipe. My kids have both tried these but after one bite they were done because they were just too spicy for them.

