This was a lunch that I prepared for myself last weekend. I knew the rest of the family wouldn’t be interested. I was inspired by Fried Green Tomatoes and the giant zucchini hanging out in my fridge. I enjoyed these quite a lot but I also wondered if they would be just as good baked in the oven. So, today I also made a batch that I baked in the oven and made into little pizzas. I couldn’t get the kids to try them but I had a very good lunch today.

Fried (or Not Fried) Zucchini

  • 1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • large zucchini, sliced crosswise
  • canola oil, for frying
  • olive oil, in Misto spray can, for baking
  • pizza sauce (for making pizzas)
  • mozzarella cheese, grated (for making pizzas)

Put the bread crumbs in a plate. In a small bowl whisk egg and milk together with a fork.  Dip each piece of zucchini into the egg mixture and then into the bread crumbs. If you want to fry the zucchini, heat about 4 Tbsp oil in a non-stick frying pan over medium heat and cook the zucchini until golden on both sides. Drain on paper towels. Eat while hot.

If you are going to bake the zucchini, prepare a baking sheet by lining it with foil and then spraying it with oil. I used olive oil for the baked version. Place the coated zucchini on the baking sheet and then lightly spray the tops with olive oil.

Bake at 400 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes or until the zucchini is golden and looks crispy.

Remove the baking sheet from the oven. Spread about 1 tsp of pizza sauce over each zucchini slice and then sprinkle with cheese. Broil for 1 to 2 minutes or until cheese is bubbling and starting to brown.

I preferred the baked method and especially liked these as mini pizzas. The fried method was too greasy. Now if only I could get my kids to try them.

