I’ve been buying new vegetables lately to try out on my own hoping that if the kids see me eating new things they’d be more likely to try new things.  Last weekend I decided to make sautéed brussel sprouts while my husband was outside grilling chicken and potatoes. The kids were outside playing in the yard. I was alone with the sprouts and the sprouts were beautiful.

Here’s the problem… my husband brought the food in from the grill and freaked out about the smell of the brussel sprouts. Apparently when brussel sprouts are overcooked they release a sulfurous odor. I didn’t notice because I had been exposed to them while cooking. My husband prepared his dinner with his shirt over his face and rushed out to the front porch while opening windows in the kitchen and closing windows in the front of the house. He even kept my daughter out with him because she was freaking out about the smell as well. My son was so sweet and ate with me because he could tell I was mad about having to eat alone. I even lit candles to burn off some of the smell and my son and I had a romantic dinner that night.

But the brussel sprouts were delicious. I made them very simply and they turned out great. I need to figure out how to get my family to allow me to cook them again.

Sautéed Brussel Sprouts

  • 6-7 individual brussel spouts, quartered
  • 1 Tbsp bacon fat
  • 1 tsp white sugar

Cook the brussel sprouts in the bacon fat mixed with the sugar over medium heat until the edges are browned and caramelized. Season with coarse salt and freshly ground pepper.

