There are so many ways to make pizza. Using a portabella mushroom as the base for pizza is not original but I had never tried it before. Last weekend I felt inclined to grill two types of portabella pizza. One was a standard tomato sauce and mozzarella combination and the other had salsa, sour cream and mozzarella.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get the chance to eat the second version because I accidentally flipped it over on the grill and all the toppings slid into the fire. I am a huge fan of mushrooms and I buy them almost every week.

Tastespotting is hosting a “kick-ass” giveaway all about mushrooms. You should check it out but first I present you with Portabella Pizza. Say it out loud… fun eh?

Portabella Pizza

  • 2 large portabella mushrooms
  • pizza sauce (about 1/4 cup)
  • mozzarella cheese, grated
  • olive oil in a spray bottle like a Misto

Brush any dirt off the mushrooms and snap off the stem. Spray the mushroom with olive oil. Fill each mushroom with sauce and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.

Grill until the cheese is brown and bubbling.

Be careful when you remove your pizzas from the grill. I’m just saying you’ll be sad if you flip one over. You’ll still get to eat the mushroom. Grilling these was definitely the way to go.

