Here is my third and final recipe for Cape Breton Oatcakes. I’ve taken my favorite aspects from Oatcakes #1 and Oatcakes #2 and combined them for this recipe. These ones turned out very close to the ones we buy in Cape Breton. I added some whole wheat flour and brown sugar which gave the oatcakes a subtle nutty-caramel flavor.  I’ve been eating these for breakfast with a cup of tea and a piece of fruit and I think it’s almost a perfect breakfast.

Cape Breton Oatcakes #3

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 Tbsp boiling water
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats, pulsed several times in a food processor
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Cream together the butter, shortening and sugars. Put the boiling water in a cup and add the baking soda to it and then add to the butter and sugar mixture. Beat well and then add the rest of the ingredients.

Roll out on floured surface (you can also use some additional rolled oats for rolling) to your preferred thickness.

Cut into squares and bake at 350 degrees for 7 minutes or until they are golden brown.

This is the recipe I’ll be making from now on.

