I’ve seen so many recipes for Kale Chips that I just had to try it. A lot of the recipes even said something like, “You’ll never eat potato chips again!” That had me convinced that they must be good. I’m not saying the Kale Chips that I made were horrible. I was pleasantly surprised with the texture but I think I used too much oil. After about 10 chips I was done with the Kale Chips.

Kale Chips (from A Thought for Food)

  • 1 bunch of curly kale
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wash kale and pat dry with a paper towel.  Remove the stems and ribs of the kale.  Rip  into 2 inch (or larger if you prefer) chunks and place into a bowl.  Drizzle olive oil on top of the kale and mix, making sure each piece is coated.  Sprinkle with salt. Spread the mixture across baking sheets that have been covered with either parchment paper or aluminum foil. Bake for 20 minutes, or until each piece has dried up.  Let cool before transferring to a bowl.

That recipe didn’t use up all the kale that I had so I decided to attempt some sautéed kale. That was a mistake. I didn’t follow a recipe and just threw a bunch of random things in the pan. I had one taste and decided that kale was not for me.  This time I tossed the sautéed kale but I usually do my best to eat what I’ve made. What do you do with food that you’ve prepared that turns into a flop?

Kale is not for me. I tried it and I didn’t like it.

