We’re fighting the back-to-school colds here. I think soup is the best medicine but I couldn’t get anyone else to try this soup. I had to share this with you today just in case you were fighting colds too. While this was cooking this I was also making Lipton Extra Noodle soup for the kids.

The Dancing Goat Cafe was serving Carrot-Ginger soup while we were in Nova Scotia over the summer. I didn’t try it then but someone who did said that it was very good but needed more ginger. Later during that vacation I found several Cooking Light magazines tucked away in a basket at our vacation house. The one from April 2001 had a recipe for Carrot-Ginger Soup and I copied it down so I could make it in the fall. I love having soup in the cold weather. But I have never made soup from a recipe before. Usually I pull out whatever vegetables I have in the fridge and throw it all together for soup.

Carrot-Ginger Soup (adapted from Cooking Light Magazine April 2001 issue)

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 4 cups finely chopped carrot (about 1 1/4 lbs) – I used 2 large and 1 medium carrot.
  • 3 cups cubed peeled baking potato (about 1 lb)
  • 2 Tbsp grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder (I didn’t have any, so I left this out.)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 3 (15.75 oz) cans fat-free, less sodium chicken broth
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Chopped green onions (optional)

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onions; sauté 3 minutes. Add carrot and potato; cook for 1 minute. Add ginger and remaining ingredients; bring to a boil. Cover. Reduce heat; simmer for 1 hour.

Discard bay leaves. Use an inversion blender to blend the soup until smooth.

Garnish with green onions if desired. Makes 9 servings.

I would not hesitate to make this soup again. I am also going to freeze a few servings for later because I don’t think I’m going to be able to eat this all by myself this week. I was a little worried about the amount of onions in this soup only because I knew my husband would complain about the smell. The ginger definitely over-powered the onions so I didn’t hear complaints.

Maybe I was craving this soup because of the health benefits of ginger. I’ve also been drinking a lot of ginger tea because in addition to the cold I also have laryngitis. I’ll let you know in a few days if it works. Now I’m off to have a bowl of soup for breakfast.

