Making croutons is so easy you won’t want to buy them from the store again. These were a result of us having a few extra rolls that were sent over by my mother-in-law. I always feel so bad if we end up throwing away any of her homemade bread or rolls. Those are her rolls over there on the right. Someday I’ll attempt to make them myself but for now it’s so much easier to just bring them home from her house. The kids love those rolls. They are light, fluffy and delicious.

Last week we ate our fill of those yummy rolls and still had 3 of them leftover. I had the great idea to make them into croutons. I am so glad that I did. I’ve been enjoying them on salad and even on top of the Carrot-Ginger Soup I made over the weekend. I’ll never need to throw out stale bread again. I’ll make croutons.

Homemade Croutons

  • Leftover bread of your choice
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • seasoning mix of your choice to taste (I used Tangy Dill and Garden Herb popcorm seasoning from Crate & Barrel)

Cut the bread into cubes using a bread knife. Place into a large bowl and toss with olive oil and seasoning.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until the cubes are golden brown.

Cool in the pan and store in a sealed container.

I’m using a large mason jar but your could also use a plastic container.

The true test for croutons is on salad and these fared really well. I also found myself eating them straight from the jar. They were that good.

The great thing about making your own croutons is that you can make them with any kind of seasonings you want.

