These cookies intrigued me. The “secret ingredient” in them is corn flakes. My kids were all excited about the new and different ingredients but once they were made into cookies they refused to try them. My husband ate one and gave me the thumbs down. You should try making these cookies despite the negative reaction from my picky family. I thought that they were really good and I had to bring them into my office to prevent myself from eating them all.  The cookie tin was empty by noon. I liked the crisp texture and combination of the toffee and chocolate. I was inclined to brush my teeth each time I ate them though.

Golden Crunch Cookies (from The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion)

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract*
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups lightly crushed cornflakes (I just crunched them up in my hands.)
  • 2 cups butterscotch chips or the flavored chips of your choice (I used 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup Heath Bar toffee chips.)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease (or line with parchment) two baking sheets.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, vanilla, and salt. Beat in the egg, then stir in the flour, cornflakes and chips.

Roll the dough into balls the size of table tennis balls (1 to 1 1/4 inch), and place them on the baking sheets. Flatten them to about 1/2 inch with a fork, making a crisscross pattern.

Bake the cookies for about 17 minutes, until they’re golden brown around the edges. Remove them from the oven and transfer immediately to a rack to cool.

*Substitute almond extract for the vanilla if you prefer that flavor, especially if you’re using cherry, white chocolate, or other chips whose flavor might go well with almond.

I also thought you could substitute crisp rice cereal for the corn flakes for a different texture.

