For a long time I didn’t understand blogging. Why would someone publish personal things for the world to read? I suppose I was reading the wrong blogs at the time. I knew nothing about how blogging worked. Late last year one of my friends stopped writing about her personal life and started writing about the food she was cooking for her catering business. Now that was really interesting to me. (Not that her personal photos and general complaints about the world was uninteresting before I just didn’t know why it needed to be public information.)

Then I read Julie & Julia and my mind started mulling over the idea of my own blog. Shortly after that my friend from work sent me the link to her 16-year-old daughter’s blog and I decided to get my head in the game.

There’s no turning back for me now. My husband complains that I’m “obsessed” with blogging. I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed. It does take up a lot of my spare time and I’m constantly running ideas through my head for my next post. It’s a hobby for me and hobbies are about doing something you love. When you love to do something you find the time to do it. Now that I’m part of this blogging phenomena I understand it’s appeal. My world has expanded to included some incredibly cool people. People like Andrea Simpson from Confessions of a Conflicted Mean Girl. My week started off really great… I was informed that I won a giveaway from another awesome blog and Andrea gave me a Versatile Blogger award. How thrilling… or as my 4-year-old has been saying today “Yay Me!” (I don’t know where he came up with that but it is pretty darn cute.)

So the rules of being a Versatile Blogger are pretty simple: Talk about the person who nominated you, talk about yourself (the newest Versatile Blogger), and bestow the award upon 10 other bloggers.

1. Acknowledge the person who nominated you.

Andrea Simpson who writes Confessions of a Conflicted Mean Girl is a really nice person. She is an amazing writer and I love reading her stuff.

2. List ten things you like.

  1. Coloring with crayons and markers with my kids
  2. Falling asleep at the beach (with lots of sunscreen of course)
  3. The Soup (It’s the only TV show I watch religiously.)
  4. Fleece sheets (You would think they are too hot but it’s the best in the winter.)
  5. Ginger
  6. Dark chocolate
  7. Baking cookies
  8. Mojitos
  9. Teapots
  10. Reading (I devour books when I make the time to read.)

3. Nominate ten other bloggers.

  1. Les BourgeoisesI went to college with Jess and we were part of the same group of friends but I never had a chance to really get to know her. When we reconnected through Facebook and I started living vicariously through her world travels I was happy to learn more about her. Now that she has started her own blog I feel like we are kindred spirits.
  2. Full Time FoodieThis is the blog that inspired me to start one of my own. Katya writes so beautifully and has such a unique perspective on things. She’s only 17 and kids like her make me optimistic about her generation making this world a better place. She is working on a year-long project reworking fast food into healthy food.
  3. Perpetually PeevedI promise that I’m not copying from Andrea’s list. This is a blog that I read everyday.  Emily is hilarious. I love that she calls her kids Biggie and Smalls and her Wednesday WTF posts.
  4. One Ordinary Day – Michelle was one of the first people to comment on my blog and she is so kind and supportive in addition to sharing great recipes and tips for green living.
  5. Sweet & Crumby – I’ve already borrowed several recipes from Geni. I feel a kinship with her because she describes a clean kitchen as a blank canvas and I feel the same way. You won’t even believe that her 12-year-old daughter is her head photographer. I’m saying her photos are awesome!
  6. Living Dilbert – This is another hilarious blog. It’s anonymous because Living Dilbert doesn’t want to get fired but she hits the nail on the head about working in the corporate world. She needs to write a screenplay about her work-life. I’m also hoping she gets a great new job so she doesn’t have to deal with Bad Boss.
  7. Annie’s Eats – Annie is an artist with food. She is just so consistently awesome with every post. I wish I lived near her so I could crash her parties.
  8. Kitchen Simplicity – I want to be just like Cheri when I grow up. She’s Canadian and I’m cool with that.
  9. 17 and Baking – Elissa is a brilliant writer. A lot of times I skip right to the recipe on cooking blogs but with Elissa I read every word. I can’t wait to see how she does in Boston.
  10. Dine & Dish – This is an inspiring blog. Kristen is working to connect novice bloggers to experienced bloggers to share that experience. It is so lovely to see complete strangers supporting and encouraging each other in a shared passion.

Thanks again to Andrea for bestowing this honor upon me. I’m thrilled to share these great blogs with you. It was very hard to whittle down to just ten.

