Today Annie at Annie’s Eats posted fabulous instructions on making your own pumpkin puree. It’s really rather easy if you think about it. Especially if you have a hard time finding canned pumpkin at the store. I am huge fan of pumpkin because it is so healthy. Have you read the label on a can of pumpkin? One serving of pumpkin provide 300% of your recommended daily intake of vitamin A. I think that’s pretty incredible. You can find more about the health benefits of pumpkin at How Stuff Works.  As far as I’m concerned pumpkin is a superfood.

Many times I find that the recipes that get included on the packaging of ingredients turn out to be the best versions. I rely on the can of Libby’s Pure Pumpkin for their pumpkin pie recipe. I figure that since finding canned pumpkin at the store is becoming rare that I would share Libby’s recipe here.

Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 fl. oz.) Carnation Evaporated Milk
  • 1 unbaked 9-inch deep dish pie shell (My recipe for pie crust is here.)

Mix sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. (This is my favorite part of making this recipe. This time I accidentally bought sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk and my lovely husband ran out to the store to get me the right thing. That proves he likes this pie.)

Pour into pie shell.

Bake in preheated 425 degree oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees, bake 40-50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate.

We prefer to eat this pie cold and my husband likes Cool Whip on top.

I could probably justify eating pumpkin pie for breakfast.

