One night last week I was getting ready to make our famous Tupelo Chicken and changed my mind. Mostly because I was using my mini-chopper to make cornflake crumbs out of whole cornflakes and the chopper wasn’t grinding them small enough for my liking. You see I usually buy cornflake crumbs already made into crumbs but they didn’t have them at the store. So I decided to change to something that I knew the kids would like (they think the Tupelo Chicken is too spicy) and made this recipe from my daughter’s school fundraiser cookbook. Everyone ate this meal with little complaint… my husband wished I had made the other chicken. It was very flavorful and easy so I’m adding this to my weekly menu choices.

Cornflake Chicken

  • 4 boneless chicken breasts halves
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 1/2 cups cornflakes
  • 1 Tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese (I left this out)
  • 1/8 tsp ground red pepper or 1/4 tsp black pepper

In a heavy-duty plastic bag, crush the cornflakes to form fine crumbs. In medium sized shallow bowl, combine cornflake crumbs, parmesan and pepper. Melt butter and combine with garlic. Brush chicken with garlic butter mixture. Sprinkle cornflake crumbs on chicken and gently press into the chicken to make sure it sticks. Place chicken on greased cookie sheet – bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

