After my experience with the acorns I felt the need to bake something that I knew would be a home-run. Unfortunately for my ego my husband turned his nose up at these delicious morsels. Fortunately for my co-workers they benefited from his snobbery. It was wonderful to bake something that was throughly appreciated. One person commented “You can make these anytime” and another said “These are totally delicious.” I promise to share more treats with my office from now on.

Apple Pie Blondies (Recipe from From Apples to Zucchini)

  • 1 2/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 cup apples, peeled, cored and diced

topping:

  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Mix together sugar, applesauce and oil until blended well. Stir in eggs, vanilla, and cinnamon. Add remaining dry ingredients and mix until combined. Fold in apples. Spread batter into greased 9×13-inch pan. Mix cinnamon and sugar together and sprinkle on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Allow to cool completely before cutting.

I agree with my co-workers and thought these were delicious. They mix up quickly and they smell so great while baking.

