Okay, they don’t look very red do they? My daughter once declared that the only kind of pie that she’ll eat for dessert is a Whoopie Pie. One day last week I was browsing one of the food photo websites and I saw a recipe for chocolate cake that had beets in it. Having never eaten beets before I decided that they would be our new ingredient to try out this week. Knowing that my kids would never willingly eat a cooked beet I decided that baking them into a dessert would be the way to go. I adapted the chocolate cake with beets into whoopie pies.

I started working on them last weekend while my husband was out mowing the lawn hoping to get them baked before he caught me red handed. (Pun intended.) He did catch me in the middle of mixing the batter and his reaction went something like “What the heck are you doing? You can bring those to work.” Fortunately the kids weren’t really paying attention to me that morning and my daughter excitedly asked me to eat one of the cakes before I had a chance to add the filling. Of course I let her. Now I’m not the kind of person to trick or mislead people and I remained silent until her third bite. “There’s a secret ingredient in those Whoopie Pies darling… want to know what it is? Beets!” Thankfully, she continued right on eating it and told her father that he was crazy not to try it. She said it was the best Whoopie Pie she ever had. She insisted that I was not allowed to bring them to work because she wanted them. Husband finally did agree to eat one but I haven’t seen him do it yet. I must remind him tonight.

Cut the greens off the beets and scrub the dirt off them. Boil them over medium heat until tender. Drain and then allow to cool before cutting off the tops and peeling them. Puree about 3 medium beets in a food processor for this recipe.

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

(Adapted from VegaliciousRecipes)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups pureed beets
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Sift together the dry ingredients (except the sugar)and set aside.

Whisk together the remaining ingredients in another bowl.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Drop tablespoons of batter onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees or until the cakes are fully cooked and slightly cracked on top.

Filling for the Whoopie Pies

(I rarely measure when I’m making frosting. This list is approximate. You can adjust the amounts until you get the right texture.)

  • 2 Tbsp softened butter
  • 3 Tbsp marshmallow fluff
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1-2 Tbsp milk

Mix until smooth. Slather a dollop of frosting on the flat side of a cooled cake and sandwich with another cake.

These are best served the same day. After a day they get a little sticky but they are still pretty good. I was thrilled that the kids liked these and didn’t mind the addition of the beets.

