My son requested lasagna because it’s Garfield’s favorite food. Both the kids have been selecting Garfield books from the library lately. My daughter will sometimes read them to my son. They were both wondering about lasagna and when I explained what it was my son asked for it. I rarely make it because it is rather involved but today was a holiday for me so we had lasagna for dinner tonight. Now the kids know why it’s Garfield’s favorite food… they just loved it. The only ingredient that was new for them was the ricotta cheese and thankfully they took no notice of it.

Lasagna

  • 12 individual  lasagna noodles
  • 1 pound ground beef, cooked and drained
  • 3 cups prepared tomato sauce (approximately)
  • 1 container (15 oz.) ricotta cheese
  • 4 cups mozzarella cheese, grated
  • 1 egg

Preheat oven to 375̊ F. Cook lasagna noodles according to package directions; drain and separate. Add cooked ground beef to tomato sauce and simmer until heated.  In a small bowl combine ricotta cheese and egg whisking together with a fork until smooth.

Spread half a cup of the tomato sauce over the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. Layer 3 cooked lasagna noodles over the sauce. Spread a third of the ricotta cheese mixture over the noodles, then sprinkle about 1 cup of the mozzarella cheese over that. Cover that with another half cup of tomato sauce.

I added a layer of thinly sliced mushrooms for my husband and I, leaving a corner without them for the kids. Next time I might leave the mushrooms in for them because they were barely noticeable.

Repeat the layers in the same order until the last layer of noodles. Sprinkle the last layer of noodles with tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

For this lasagna I had my husband cook an extra large batch of sauce and I froze half of it so the next I make lasagna that the preparation of it is much quicker. Also, I used grass-fed ground beef that I bought at Balance Rock Farm. I was thrilled to find a source of grass-fed beef and local meat so close to home. I find their chicken to be much more flavorful and the ground beef was very good as well. It’s nice to know exactly where your food is coming from.

My son was a member of the clean plate club this time.

