After school today I suggested to my daughter that we bake something together. Of course she wanted cookies so I pulled out Martha Stewart’s Cookies book. My daughter loves to look through all the photos in that book. She immediately chose the recipe for Cream-Filled Chocolate Sandwiches. We had all the required ingredients so that was that. My daughter commented that she was happy that I had that particular cookbook and so I told her that I would get her a copy of it when she’s older. Her response was “I’ll probably need it.”

Homemade Oreos

(adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups, sugar, plus more for rolling cookie dough in
  • 10 Tbsp (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • Vanilla cream filling (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside. In another bowl, cream together sugar and butter until light and fluffy. (The book says to use an electric mixer but I used my hand-mixer. You can also just mix with a wooden spoon.)

Add egg to the butter/sugar mixture and beat to combine. With mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture; continue beating until dough is well combined.

Roll 1/2-inch balls of dough in sugar and place onto parchment-lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Use the bottom of a glass to flatten cookies to about 1/8 inch thick.

Bake until cookies are firm, 10 to 12 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Place 1 Tbsp cream filling onto the flat side of half the cookies. Place remaining cookies on top, and gently press on each to squeeze filling to edges. Filled cookies can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 2 days.

Vanilla Cream Filling

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract

With an electric mixer, cream butter until fluffy. On low speed, gradually add confectioners’ sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add vanilla and beat to combine. Set aside at room temperature until ready to use.

The original recipe for the cream filling included solid vegetable shortening but I try to avoid using that whenever possible. Using only butter made for a much richer filling for the cookies and I felt it was worth it.

