When the weather turns cold I crave soup. The rest of my family will only eat Lipton Extra Noodle soup. Someday I will get them to eat my homemade soup. Until then I’ve got to eat all my soup myself which is not that big of a sacrifice.  In the winter, I’ll throw together a hearty soup on a Saturday morning and I’ll have soup for the rest of the week. I don’t use a recipe and add whatever I happen to have in the fridge for vegetables. This soup has zucchini, carrots, mushrooms, chicken and alphabet noodles. There are infinite possibilities. I wouldn’t recommend adding sweet potatoes because they will get very mushy but you can pretty much use any other vegetables.

Homemade Chicken Soup

  • 6+ cups chicken broth (you can use a boxed variety)
  • 2 small chicken breasts, cut into cubes (you could also use leftover cooked chicken from another recipe)
  • 3 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced in semi-circles
  • 7-6 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup mini-pasta
  • 1 bay leaf
  • spices to taste (I usually add black pepper and sage)

Brown the chicken in a large saucepan. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil. Add all the vegetables, bay leaf and spices and simmer for 30-40 minutes. Add pasta and cook an additional 7-8 minutes or until the pasta is tender.

Enjoy topped with homemade croutons or crackers!

