My daughter helped me make these crackers and her verdict was that they taste exactly like Cheezit crackers. It was quick and easy to make these and they taste best fresh from the oven. This recipe is adapted from Ezra Pound Cake. I want to let you know that it would be quicker to use a food processor but you don’t need it. I used a pastry cutter instead and I think it worked out just fine.

Cheese Crackers

(adapted from Ezra Pound Cake)

  • 1 1/2 cups (about 4 oz.) grated cheddar cheese (I used organic white cheddar.)
  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened and cut into 4 pieces
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Using a pastry cutter combine the cheese, butter, flour, salt and cayenne pepper until the mixture looks like pea-size crumbs.

Add the milk and use your hands to form the dough into a ball. On a lightly floured surface roll out the dough about 1/8-inch thick.

Use a pizza cutter or a sharp knife to cut the dough into your desired shapes. I almost got out the cookie cutters but the pizza cutter worked so well that I changed my mind.

Gently transfer the crackers to an ungreased cookie sheet leaving 1/4-inch between them. Try to make the crackers roughly about the same size so everything will cook evenly.

My daughter decide replicate the Cheezit design and was so proud of it that she called her father over to see it.

Bake the crackers on the middle rack for 10-12 minutes, or until the edges of the crackers are golden.

Cool on baking sheet set on a wire rack. These taste great warm but are also very good at room temperature. Store in a sealed container for up to 5 days.

My daughter has been eating these for her after-school snack. My son finally decided to try them yesterday but immediate spit it out into the trash and then requested that I wash out his mouth.  Don’t let that discourage you from making this recipe though. My daughter is definitely the pickier of the two.

