Warning! These apple chips are highly addictive. I made one batch, ate them and immediately sliced up two more apples for another batch to take to work for a snack. It couldn’t be any easier. I needed something healthy to off-set all the cookies and treats that have been around here lately.

Apple Crisps

(adapted from Gourmet Traveler)

  • 2 medium apples (any variety)
  • cinnamon (for sprinkling)

Preheat oven to 200 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.  Slice the apples as thinly as possible. (I wish I had a mandolin but it’s not entirely necessary.) Lay out the apple slices on the baking sheets making sure they don’t overlap. Pat down the apple slices with a paper towel. Sprinkle lightly with cinnamon. Bake for 1 hour. Peel off the dried apple slices and eat immediately or store in an airtight container.

I tried this recipe out with a Ginger Gold apple, a Gala apple, a Honey Crisp apple, and a Empire apple. It doesn’t matter which variety you use because they all tasted great.

Have you seen the new FoodPress site? I am totally in love with it. It was launched at just the right time to get me excited about food blogging all over again. By the way, that’s where I discovered this fabulous recipe. It was one of the main features from Wednesday.

