This recipe was my daughter’s choice for this week. Of course she chose it from Martha Stewart’s Cookies. It wasn’t her initial choice actually. She wanted anything that had chocolate and I made a simple comment that she only wanted chocolate cookies so then she pointed to these cookies. I’m glad that she did. They remind me of a cookie recipe that I made as a kid. My husband wasn’t a fan but he’s not a cookie-person. Both kids gobbled these up and my daughter even insisted on packing a few of these cookies in her lunch for school.

Butter Twists

(from Martha Stewart’s Cookies – Crisp & Crunchy section)

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together butter and sugar with an electric mixer. Add vanilla and egg white. Mix together on low speed. Add flour and salt; mix until combined.

Roll dough into 3/4-inch balls. Roll each ball into a 6-inch log. Bend log in half, then twist. Space 1 inch apart on baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake, rotating halfway through, until cookies just begin to turn golden, 13 to 15 minutes (I only cooked mine for 8 minutes. Notice how the bottoms of the cookies are golden. You don’t want them cooked any more than that.)

Let cool on parchment of wire racks. Cookies can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 3 days.

The cookbook says this recipe yields 3 dozen cookies but I only got 26. Does anyone else notice that cookbooks inflate the yield on recipes?

