Don’t worry I’m not going all tree-hugger on you… the mint is not in danger. I identify with tree-huggers and was a literal tree-hugger in grade 2 with the rest of my class when we learned about tree growth cycles from a teacher who I suspect was a tree-hugger. Every year I dry the last of the mint leaves from my weeds garden to use in recipes over the winter. It’s easy and effortless so let’s get started.

Step 1: Pick all the perfect looking mint leaves from your plants. Wash them and spin them in your salad spinner if you have one. Cover a large cooling rack with a clean, dry dish towel and lay all the mint leaves over the towel. See photo above.

Step 2: Wait for 3 to 4 days until the mint is dried up. Easy eh? The above photo shows the mint after one day.

After the second day the leaves start to curl.

That mint is ready after three days of sitting out on the counter. It should be crisp to the touch. Save it in a tightly sealed jar for up to two months. You can use it to make Not Your Mom’s Meatloaf which my 4-year-old (almost 5!) loves.

