I love my job! One great part of my job involves planning the incentive trip for the Sales Department. What does that involve you might wonder… I work with several major hotel chains to find the best location for the trip and they help me choose the location by bringing me in to look at the properties. Not that exciting if we’re going to New Hampshire for example, but pretty exciting considering all the trips have been to Caribbean islands. Seriously awesome right? I think so too. This year one of the hotel chains sent me a package after we had signed our contract for the trip and included a cookbook called Taste of the Caribbean by Rosamund Grant. I think it was a brilliant promotion on their part because I’m going to hang on to a cookbook and always think of that hotel when I use it.

I’ve been eying this recipe for a while and finally got around to making it. I had a little issue with not using enough spinach but that was okay because I made half the pies with mushrooms instead.

Spinach Patties

(adapted from Taste of the Caribbean)

For the pastry:

  • 1/2 cup butter, chilled and diced
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg yolk
  • milk, to glaze (I forgot about this part)

For the filling:

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 6-8 oz. fresh or frozen leaf spinach, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg (the recipe calls for cumin but I prefer nutmeg with spinach)
  • 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon (like jarred Better than Bouillon)
  • freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin tin.

To make the filling, melt the butter in a pan, add the onion and cook gently until softened. Stir in the spinach, add the nutmeg, bouillon and pepper and cook for 5 minutes or until the spinach has wilted. Leave to cool.

To make the pastry, rub the butter into the flour, add the egg yolk and 2-3 Tbsp cold water and mix to a firm dough.  Turn the pastry out on to a floured surface and knead for a few seconds. Divide the pastry in half and roll out one half. Cut out 12 rounds using a pastry cutter (I used the lid of a Mason Jar. It was just the right size.) Press into the muffin tins and fill with the spinach mixture.

Roll out the remaining dough and cut out smaller rounds to cover the patties. (I used a clean, empty tomato paste can for this.) Press the edges to seal and prick the tops with a fork. Brush with milk and bake for 15-20 minutes until golden.

These were really fun to make and tasty. Next time I’ll make sure I use the right amount of spinach. I’m even thinking of hosting our next family dinner with a Pie theme. Everything served would be a pie. I think that will be fun.

