I’m getting bored with breakfast again. Sunday morning I was inspired to by some leftover cranberries in my fridge. For those of you following this blog you might be wondering what the cranberries are left over from. We make cranberry and popcorn garland for our Christmas tree every year and I always over-estimate how many cranberries we need. Decorating our Christmas tree is one of our favorite traditions. All our ornaments are souvenirs from vacations and I love going through all of them as we add them to the tree.

I was also craving chocolate but wanted a healthy muffin as well so I added whole wheat flour to this recipe. It worked out really well but next time I’m going to add even more cranberries.

Cranberry Chocolate Muffins

(adapted from Muffin Mania’s Blueberry Muffins)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries, chopped
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients, the cranberries and chocolate chips. In a small bowl combine the melted butter, milk and egg. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix gently until just combined. Fill muffin tins 3/4 full and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

I’m enjoying breakfast again this week. I would like these muffins to be chock-full of cranberries next time. The mini chocolate chips are delicate enough to not overpower these muffins but you could also use regular chocolate chips.

