I’m on a little bit of a cranberry kick lately. I think it might be because of this pie. I saw this pie on BrightBakes back in November and I couldn’t stop thinking about it for over a month.  I made it last week for our Christmas dinner and it was as good as I was hoping it would be. I can’t wait to make it again soon. It is similar to a pecan pie but the addition of the tart cranberries makes it less sweet.

Cranberry Walnut Friendship Pie

(adapted from BrightBakes)

  • 5 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 Tbsp plus 1 tsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup dark corn syrup
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup whole fresh cranberries, rinsed and any stems removed
  • 2/3 cup walnut pieces, coarsely chopped
  • one 9 inch pastry shell (baked, and slightly cooled) – Single Pie Crust recipe

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, cardamom, and salt until well combined.

Add the melted butter, corn syrup, egg, and vanilla. Whisk well to fully combine. Fold in the cranberries and walnuts.

Pour the filling into the pre-baked pie shell and bake for 30 minutes or until the pie is lightly browned and filling is set.

Allow the pie to cool completely to room temperature before slicing to serve.

Tonight is the last night to enter the giveaway for a subscription to Everyday Food magazine on  My Favorite Things of 2010 post.

Happy New Year!!!

