This is another fantastic recipe from Cooking With My Kid. After I read about her cookies I couldn’t help myself… I needed to make some of my own. I searched a couple of stores before I found superfine sugar and I’m glad that I did. The kids were outside sledding the afternoon of New Year’s Eve and I took the opportunity to bake these up. Both my kids helped come up with some of the fortunes that we folded into the cookies. My favorite one that they did was “There are bagels in the kitchen.”  It was too much fun opening the cookies and these cook up really quickly.

I’m definitely going to make these again. For the life of me I could not remember how a fortune cookie looked while I was folding them and you’ve got to move quickly so I didn’t have to time to look it up. They don’t look quite right but that doesn’t matter because they were delicious.

Homemade Fortune Cookies

(adapted from Cooking With My Kid)

  • 5 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 egg whites (save the yolks, I’ll share a great butter cookie recipe to use them up later this week)
  • 1 cup super fine sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 3 Tbsp heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp multi-colored nonpareil sprinkles (optional)
  • 24 fortunes on 2-inch strips of paper. Get creative!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Prepare two baking sheets by lining with parchment paper. Melt butter, set aside to cool. With an electric mixer, combine egg whites and sugar for one minute. Mix in flour and salt, beat. Mix in butter, heavy cream, and vanilla, beat until smooth. Fold in the multi-colored nonpareil sprinkles.

Place teaspoon-size scoops of batter at least 4 inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Using the back of the spoon, smooth batter into even rounds about 3 inches in diameter. You want the batter almost transparent on the sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until edges are golden brown. (I only baked my cookies for 5 minutes but my husband complained that they were too soft.) Remove from oven.

Working quickly, slide a spatula under one cookie, lift, and flip over onto a dishtowel. Place one fortune paper in the center of the cookie. Fold cookie in half and pinch at the top to form a loose semicircle. Place the folded edge on the rim of a coffee mug and pull each point down, one to the inside of the mug and one to the outside. Place folded cookies in a muffin tin to hold their shape until firm.

Makes 2 dozen cookies.

Another good fortune that my daughter wrote out instructed the recipient to give her a quarter. We laughed when that fortune was in one of the cookies she opened.  I think I’m going to keep a notebook and jot down ideas for funny fortunes for our next batch of these. I can’t wait to share this recipe with our extended family.

