In an effort to introduce something different for my daughter’s school lunch I tried out this recipe for soft pretzels a few weeks ago. I’ve made them three more times since. She was stuck on having a marshmallow fluff sandwich on wheat bread for so long and now all of sudden she’s stuck on having a soft pretzel in her lunch. The kids love rolling out the dough and shaping them into pretzels.

Soft Pretzels

(adapted from King Arthur’s Flour)

For the dough:

  • 2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup spelt flour (or King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour)
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 cup water

For the topping:

  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • coarse salt

Mix and knead the dough ingredients together—by hand, mixer, or machine—till the dough is cohesive and fairly smooth. It should be slightly sticky; if it seems dry, sprinkle it with a tablespoon or two of water. Cover the dough and let it rest for 30 minutes

Turn the dough out onto a lightly greased work surface, fold it over a few times to gently deflate it, then divide it into six pieces. Roll each piece of dough into a 24-inch rope.

In a shallow bowl, mix together the water,  sugar and baking soda. Shape each rope into a pretzel, and dip in the baking soda solution; this will help the pretzels brown.

Sprinkle with coarse salt, and bake in a preheated 400°F oven for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown.

Packing my daughter’s lunch couldn’t be easier. We just wrap up a pretzel in her Wrap-N-Mat, throw in an apple, and some water and she’s good to go. The Wrap-N-Mat is a great solution to replace plastic sandwich baggies. We’ve been using the same one for 3 years and it’s still as good as new.

My son declared that he didn’t like soft pretzels the first time I made them and refused to try them. The second time I asked him to help me and he was more interested and changed his mind. By the third batch I had to fend him off so my daughter would have some left for her lunches. He rates the soft pretzels  four stars.

K’s take: “I rated the soft pretzels  five stars. Sometimes I take them in my lunch.”

I agree with K’s rating. These are delicious fresh from the oven. I like them as pretzel bites by cutting the dough into bite-size pieces before baking. What a great appetizer that would be for guests!

