Yesterday afternoon I had a hankering for some cookies but I was feeling a little lazy about baking a huge batch of cookies. This recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cookies was so simple, quick and satisfying that I felt like a didn’t really bake cookies after all. Plus with only 7-1/2 tablespoons of ingredients you could conclude that these are actually low calorie. I’m no expert on that sort of thing but it did make me happy thinking about it.  Plus I thought they would make a beautiful garnish for the Creme Brulee that I’m making this afternoon for my anniversary dessert.

Honey Florentines

(from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 Tbsp packed light brown sugar
  • 1-1/2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • pinch of coarse salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Melt butter, brown sugar, and honey in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Transfer to a bowl. Whisk in flour and salt until smooth.

Working quickly, drop 1/2 teaspoons of batter onto large baking sheets lined with parchment paper (or Silpat if you have one), spacing at least 3 inches apart.

Bake cookies until they spread and turn golden brown, about 6 minutes. (4 minutes seemed just right for my oven.)


For flat cookies, allow to cool completely on baking sheets on wire racks. To roll cookies, wait 1-2 minutes after removing the cookies from the oven. Slide a spatula under the edge of one cookie and drape it over the handle of a wooden spoon. Quickly roll the cookie around the spoon and then slide off to cool completely on a wire rack. The cookies are so thin that they will be cool in no time.

Store in an airtight container up to 2 days.

No one in my house was interested in these cookies and they didn’t try them. I would rate them  3 stars.

