I am not a gardener. I really wish that I was. The idea of being able to head out to the yard to bring in food for meals is so appealing to me. In fact on several occasions my husband has wished aloud that I would start a blog about gardening so I would focus my energy on that because that would mean more help for him on taking care of the yard.

We have actually talked about ripping up some plants in a prime location in our yard and planting a small garden for a little while now but that means lots more work for him and me. I’m always a little baffled during these conversations because my husband rarely eats vegetables beside potatoes or spinach.

So what does someone do when they want garden fresh fruit and vegetables but don’t have the time, space or skills to have a home garden? Join a CSA! CSA stands for Community-Supported Agriculture and is a group of people who pledge to support a farm to share in the benefits and risks.

As I near my one-year anniversary of Try It You Might Like It, I ponder how well my efforts have made a difference with my family. While we’ve made improvements to attitudes about trying new things they haven’t always been the healthiest foods. A quick scan of my recipe index shows lots of cookies, cakes, pies and muffins. That indicates to me that I need to move on to phase two of my efforts. That phase includes a subscription to a CSA. I signed up last week and am so excited for our first pick-up in June. The cost turns out to be $22.50 per week but you pay the entire amount for 20 weeks up front and this enables the farm to have cash on hand at the start of the season when they need it most.

The farm is called Old Nourse Farm and has a fascinating history.  I only have a half share because I don’t want to waste anything but hopefully after this season I’ll be comfortable enough to purchase a full share next year.  Some farms require that you volunteer at the farm in addition to the annual fees. This one doesn’t and allows you to list certain things that you don’t want included in your box. I only wrote down Swiss Chard because my parents had great success growing that and I’m pretty sure that I still don’t like it.

So if you are interested in joining a CSA I would recommend checking out listing on Local Harvest.  Local Harvest says that “The best organic food is what’s grown closest to you. Use our website to find farmers’ markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food in your area, where you can buy produce, grass-fed meats, and many other goodies.”

I’m looking forward to the next phase of our journey. The blackberries in the photos above were from the grocery store and the grass is from a preschool project that my son did last week.  I couldn’t resist using the grass in the photos because it was such a beautiful color. The grass is getting rather over-grown now but I’m waiting to plant it outside so we can hide Easter eggs in it this weekend.

