Here’s a really quick recipe for a delicious side dish. My regular readers will probably remember the Brussels Sprouts fiasco of 2010 when my husband evacuated the house due to stinky sprouts.  When Jane posted this recipe last week at This Week for Dinner I knew that I had to make them again.  I tentatively told my husband about my plan and he was not too pleased. He didn’t try them and he was definitely put out that I made this.

Picture me hiding in the kitchen quickly eating said brussels sprouts to remove the evidence so we could sit down and enjoy a family meal. I’m definitely going to make this again even if I have to hide to eat them. Some day I’ll be able to sit with the rest of the family and enjoy this side dish without any protests. It will take some time but I can be patient.

60-Second Maple Brussels Sprouts

(adapted from This Week for Dinner)

  • 10-12 Brussels Sprouts, cored and finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp reserved bacon fat (We keep a jar of bacon fat in the fridge.)
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • salt & pepper to taste

Heat bacon fat over medium-high heat in a non-stick frying pan. Add the maple syrup once the bacon fat is hot and stir. Add the Brussels sprouts and cook for 60 seconds. Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper and eat immediately.

I think the addition of some crumbled bacon would be a fantastic addition. Perhaps that would win over my husband… not likely though.

I rate this recipe  5 stars.

