… that’s good enough for me. Who doesn’t love Cookie Monster? If you don’t love Cookie Monster, I don’t want to know. Perhaps he is why I love cookies so much. Cookie Monster is my second favorite Sesame Street character after Oscar the Grouch. In fact I own an adult-sized Cookie Monster t-shirt and I’m not afraid to wear it.

This month is the last month of my Cookie-of-the-Month donation from my company’s charity auction. Our lawyer (the recipient of the Cookie-of-the-Month club) mentioned that his son’s first birthday was this month and I immediately thought of these cookies from In Katrina’s Kitchen. I actually thought my kids are too old to appreciate Sesame Street character cookies but I was wrong. They were so happy to help assemble them and I saved some of the cookies for them to decorate completely themselves. This morning my son so sweetly said to me, “Mom, you are such a good cook.” To which I asked, “Why do you say that?” He replied, “because you made Cookie Monster cookies.” I do hope that these are the memories they will retain when they are adults. It just warms my heart.

Basic Sugar Cookies

(from In Katrina’s Kitchen)

  • 2 cups unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 6 cups flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together butter and sugar. Add vanilla and almond extracts then eggs and combine. Mix in baking powder and flour. You may need to use your hands to mix in all the flour near the end.

Roll out softball-sized hunks of dough on a floured surface and cut into round shapes. I used a 3-1/16″ scalloped cookie cutter. Bake for 6-8 minutes and cool on wire rack before decorating.

Maybe you noticed that this is my third recipe that I’ve posted for sugar cookies. Honestly this is the best one so far. I love that you don’t need to chill the dough and it’s very easy to work with. Combine that with the techniques that I learned from my go round with Professional Style Sugar Cookies and it was a complete pleasure to bake these cookies.

Go check out In Katrina’s Kitchen for step-by-step photos of decorating the cookies.  I used royal frosting tinted with blue food coloring, white candy melts, black M&M’s and mini chocolate chip cookies from Trader Joe’s.  You can find bags of all black M&M’s at party stores like iParty.  My first attempt at some messy looking frosting was a bust literally since the pastry bag sprung a leak on the side. Also I believe I was experiencing instant carpal tunnel syndrome because the icing was just not soft enough. I switched to using my Martha Stewart cookie press with an icing tip and the rest of cookies were done in no time. I’m definitely going to use that gadget for frosting again.  My husband commented that those Cookie Monsters looked too “groomed” though.

After 25 cookies I ran out of royal frosting. Then I did something I don’t normally do… I went to the store and bought some pre-made cookie frosting in squeeze bags. I wanted to make sure we had lots of cookies.

I wasn’t as happy with the first Monsters with the store-bought frosting so I ended up just making designs with the rest of the cookies. We called those ones the rejects but the people at my office seemed just as impressed with them as the other ones.

I had so much fun making these cookies. Who could resist that adorable face?

