When I get a new magazine I immediately remove all those annoying subscription cards floating among the pages and recycle them. Thankfully I noticed that there was a recipe on the back of one of them and a coupon for the yogurt that I happen to favor. I think it was a brilliant idea on Stonyfield’s part to include a recipe on the card. I was able slip the card right into my recipe box which meant that I would eventually make it. Eventually didn’t take very long because this recipe was a great solution to my ongoing boredom with breakfast.

Apple Oatmeal Quick Bread

(from Stonyfield Farm)

  • 1 cup Plain Oikos Organic Greek Yogurt
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour (I used white whole-white flour.)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup diced apples (peeled or not)

Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray. Heat oven to 350°F. In a small bowl, mix together yogurt and oats and set aside. In a large bowl, mix together egg, oil and brown sugar. Stir in flours, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and yogurt mixture (batter will be lumpy). Fold in apples.

Pour into greased pan.  Bake 45 minutes or until golden brown or a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan immediately. Once cooled, cut bread into 12 slices.

I was a little concerned about the consistency of the batter while I was making this recipe.  It was much thicker than I was used to for quick bread.  It turned out great though. My kids would not try this delicious bread but did admit that it smelled good while it was baking. I rate this recipe  4 stars.

