This recipe isn’t fancy but it creates impressive cookies. A name like Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies suggests a classic and simple recipe. I shared some with my co-workers and I couldn’t be humble about them as I offered cookies around. I’m confident in my cookie baking ability. I had to share because otherwise I would have eaten way too many myself.

Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies

(adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  • 2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Turbinado sugar (or unsweetened flake coconut) for rolling

Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat to combine. Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt over the butter mixture. With a wooden spoon mix until all the flour is incorporated.  Chill dough until firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll each ball in turbinado sugar (or coconut if using) and place on baking sheets lined with parchment paper about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until set, 7 to 10 minutes. Cool for 1 minute on baking sheet then transfer cookies to cool completely on a wire rack. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.

I prefer the cookies rolled in coconut but the kids liked the other ones.

Both kids and I rate this recipe  5 stars. My husband wasn’t interested but that’s his loss and our gain.

