I’ll admit that tuna salad would not normally be my first choice for a sandwich.  This recipe for Bolder Tuna Salad has converted me to a tuna salad lover. Make sure that you check the Cooking with Ben blog on this recipe for a unique take on cooking with kids. Catherine Newman is writing about Ben’s adventures in learning to cook and it features him making recipes from ChopChop Magazine.

I’ve made a few changes to this recipe and I’m sure you’ll have your own take on it as well. The idea of substituting yogurt for the usual mayonnaise is the main improvement here.

Bolder Tuna Salad

(adapted from ChopChop Magazine)

  • 1 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1⁄4 cup minced celery (about 1 stalk)
  • 3/4 of an apple (washed, cored and chopped – leave the peel on)
  • 7-oz can light tuna in water (drained)
  • 1/2 Tbsp minced fresh basil
  • 1/2 Tbsp minced fresh cilantro
  • 2 Tbsp low-fat plain Greek or regular low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 squirt yellow mustard (I didn’t measure the mustard. You can use more or less to taste.)

Add tuna to a small bowl and use a fork to break apart into small pieces. Add remaining ingredients and mix well.  Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour to allow flavors to mingle. (I was like Ben and couldn’t wait the full hour.) When ready to make your sandwich spoon over toasted wheat bread. This makes enough for 2 sandwiches. Store tuna salad in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

My kids and husband complain whenever I make this recipe because they don’t like the aroma of tuna. That means  they have refused to try it so far even though I’ve explained that sometimes food smells bad but tastes good.  A concept they’ll need to learn later I suppose.  I rate this recipe  5 stars.

