My 5-year-old son is totally a “Mommy’s boy”. He is so attached to me that he has been my most loyal taste tester for trying new foods. He has surprised me lately with his nonchalantness (yes, I know that’s not a real word) about tasting the vegetables I’ve been taking home from our CSA. He’ll walk up to me working on something in the kitchen and join in to help and ends up tasting whatever he’s helped with. I can’t tell you have happy that makes me though I don’t make a big deal about it. I figure that if I’m casual about this stuff he’ll continue along the same path.

As I was searching for recipes for my vegetables, my son who always leans over my arm while I’m on the computer, requested that I make chocolate cupcakes with chocolate icing and a cherry on top. He was even a good sport when I selected a bag of quinoa flour and suggested that we make the recipe printed on the back. You can have a special treat like chocolate cupcakes and still have some nutrition at the same time.

According to Bob’s Red Mill,

“Organic Quinoa Flour (pronounced keen-wa) is the most nutritious grain available. It is also one of the oldest cultivated grains in the world. Quinoa is high in protein, calcium and iron. Use this delicate flour when baking. You can substitute this flour for half of the all-purpose flour in many recipes or completely replace wheat flour in cakes and cookie recipes.”

Sour Cream Fudge Cupcakes

(from Bob’s Red Mill)

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups organic quinoa flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place the butter in a small heat resistant bowl. Pour boiling water over the butter and stir until completely melted. Whisk in the cocoa powder. In a large bowl, sift together the sugar, quinoa flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the cooled cocoa mixture, egg yolks, vanilla and sour cream and blend well. Beat the egg whites until stiff but not dry. Fold into batter.

Spoon into a muffin tin lined with paper cupcake liners. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in center comes out clean. Makes 12 gorgeous cupcakes.

Frost with homemade chocolate icing and garnish with a cherry.

My daughter tried one tiny bite of these without frosting and did not like them. My son loved them though. The scent of the cupcakes fresh from the oven had a strong quinoa smell which is what I think turned my daughter off. Quinoa does have a unique scent but once you get past the first bite of these cupcakes they are wonderful. The quinoa smell definitely mellowed after a day and the addition of the chocolate frosting made the quinoa taste completely unnoticeable.

My son and I both rate this recipe  5 stars. My daughter rates it  2 stars and husband did not try at all.

