For us, our annual vacation to Canada means lots of junk food. Chips, chocolate, fried chicken, hamburgers, french fries, doughnuts, pop, ice cream, white bread, cookies, scones and more fried chicken. This year my husband declared that you don’t need to eat a lot of something to get the taste of it. How brilliant is that? That’s how they eat in France, so I’ve heard. Normally we eat as much as we can without getting sick because we know it will be a whole year before we get to eat that stuff again. So with that in mind we ate a moderate amount of junk food this year. I felt much better for it but still craved vegetables near the end of the vacation.  On the last night of vacation I actually dreamed about visiting our CSA.

We got home from vacation on Wednesday and thankfully Thursday was my day to pick up more produce. I truly felt like a kid in a candy store as I stood and surveyed all that there was to choose from. I took home red potatoes, green peppers, heirloom tomatoes, cucumbers, corn, romaine lettuce, blueberries, and pattypan squash. I feel like a bandit more and more every week. This CSA deal just gets better and better.  I must remember to take my camera with me for the next pick-up.

I was most excited about the pattypan squash. I had never seen them before and was drawn to them. A lady at the pick-up even asked me how to cook them but I had no idea. Some online searches didn’t quite inspire me with any recipes so I decided to simply saute them with some bacon fat and fresh thyme. I loved it so much that I cooked up the rest of them to take to work for my lunch the next day.

Pattypan Squash Saute

  • 3-4 small pattypan squash, halved and cut into wedges
  • 1 medium green pepper, cut into 1-inch strips
  • 1 Tbsp fresh thyme
  • large dollop of reserved bacon fat (or 1-2 Tbsp olive oil)
  • freshly ground pepper

Heat a frying pan over medium heat, add bacon fat and thyme and cook until the thyme is slightly wilted. Add green peppers and saute for 1 minute. Add the squash last and saute for about 5 minutes. Serve warm.

This recipe taught me that cooking vegetables in bacon fat adds something special to the vegetables without overpowering them with bacon flavor. I rate this recipe  4 stars because I think it would have been better with some onions but my husband would not tolerate that. The kids were fascinated by the pattypan squash but did not want to try it.

