My daughter has insisted that post this recipe for Pound Cake right away because she is thrilled with how it turned out. For about a year, we’ve been on a quest for that perfect pound cake recipe. It started on our way to vacation last year after the free breakfast at the Hampton Inn. My husband convinced my kids to try the pound cake that was on the buffet and they’ve been talking about that cake ever since. We’ve tried a couple of store bought versions and a couple of recipes but I’m happy to share what the kids agree to be the best recipe for pound cake.

I found this recipe in the owners manual for my Hamilton Beach hand mixer and my daughter assisted in mixing the batter.

Perfect Pound Cake

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract (optional)
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3 cups flour

In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar on medium speed with a hand mixer. Add eggs, one at a time, and beat thoroughly after each addition. Add vanilla and almond extracts and continue mixing. Reduce speed to low and alternately add cream and flour. Pour batter into a greased and floured 10-inch tube pan. (We used a regular Bundt pan but I think I will bake in loaf pans next time.) Bake for about 1 hour and 20 minutes at 325 degrees F, or until it tests done. Watch the cake carefully while it is baking, if it browns too quickly cover it with foil for the balance of the baking time.

My daughter wants to tell you about this recipe… here she goes. “This pound cake is so fluffy and soft, all I want to do with it is squish the pound cake. It tastes really good.”

Both kids and I rate this recipe  5 stars for the texture and the taste. My husband rates it  3 stars because he didn’t like the addition of the almond extract. The next time I’m going to use 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and I think he will rate it higher.

