Here is another winning recipe from my favorite cookbook, Martha Stewart’s Cookies. I’ve tweaked it a little to make them more universally appealing. Not everyone is a ginger-fiend like I am so I eliminated the fresh ginger, the ground nutmeg and ground cloves. I ended up baking these for a birthday at work and then two days later baked them again with my daughter. She did most of the work the second time. The thing that I love about this recipe is that it’s so easy to clean up afterwards because you just have one saucepan to wash when you’re done.

Chocolate-Ginger Brownies

(adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, plus more for the baking dish
  • 3 oz. bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used 3 Baker’s Semi-sweet squares and didn’t chop them which saves some time and mess.)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Butter an 8-inch square baking dish. Line bottom with parchment paper, allowing 2 inches to hang over two sides. Butter lining (not overhang). Melt butter and chocolate together in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring until smooth. Remove from heat, and stir in remaining ingredients.

Pour batter into prepared dish. Spread evenly with a rubber spatula. Bake until a cake tester inserted into center comes out with moist crumbs, 30-35 minutes. Let cool in pan on a wire rack 15 minutes. Lift out, and let cool completely. Cut into 2-inch squares. (I always use a plastic knife to cut brownies because the crumbs don’t stick to the knife and you get a cleaner cut.) Brownies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 4 days.

These brownies did not last long at our house.  I am planning on making them again soon so I can tuck them into the kids’ lunches for school.  Both kids and I rate this recipe  4 stars. They weren’t the best brownies that I’ve ever eaten but they were very good and were very easy to make.

I might need to make a batch for myself with the added fresh ginger. Have I told you that I’m growing ginger? I am and it’s amazing. I can’t attest to the taste as I haven’t harvested anything yet but I will let you know when I do. I had a small leftover piece of ginger-root sitting on my counter for about a week and I noticed a little green nub of a leaf starting to grow. That’s when I looked up how to grow ginger and discovered that all I needed to do was to plant the root. By the time I got around to planting it I had several pieces of old ginger-root to add to the pot. You would not believe how fast it grows. My plant is about 3 feet tall after a month and the leaves smell like ginger when you touch them. I’m very excited considering I don’t have a green thumb at all.

