We hosted another family get-together this past weekend. The forecast predicted rain so I planned a pizza party but really should have done the whole Labor Day cookout thing because the weather was absolutely beautiful. I wanted to serve some yummy appetizers and these were so simple that I couldn’t resist making them.  The recipe is from the special summer issue of Everyday Food magazine. I made these without the cheddar cheese because we have two people in our extended family who don’t tolerate cheese.

Tomato & Zucchini Tartlets

(adapted from Everyday Food magazine)

  • all-purpose flour for rolling
  • 2 sheets frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 2 medium tomatoes, sliced thinly
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced thinly
  • ground pepper
  • olive oil, preferably in a spray bottle like Misto
  • small basil leaves, for garnish before serving

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly flour a rolling pin and work surface and roll out puff pastry to a 14×16-inch rectangle. (I didn’t even bother unfolding the puff pastry. It was too sticky so I ended up rolling it out like that.) With a round cookie cutter slightly larger than the circumference of your tomatoes and zucchini’s cut out rounds of puff pastry and transfer to a lined baking sheet.  Use a fork to prick each round all over.

Lay a tomato slice or a zucchini slice over each round. Spray lightly with olive oil and season with pepper.

Bake until pastry light brown around the edges, 25 to 30 minutes. Let tartlets cool completely on a wire rack.  (Store in a single layer, tightly wrapped, up to 1 day.)  Top each with a basil leaf before serving.

This is an easy yet impressive appetizer to serve. I was surprised to see my 11-year-old nephew pop several of the zucchini tartlets into his mouth without hesitation. I think his mom was surprised too. He gave us both a look that said “what’s the big deal?” I think the tomato ones were more popular with the adults.  I rate this recipe  5 stars.

