This is another recipe from  the special summer issue of Everyday Food magazine. Mojitos are like my kryptonite. Okay, not really but if I get a chance to be in a tropical locale then mojitos are what I’m drinking. These were served at our end of the summer family get together earlier this month. I think we were more excited about the idea of the drink than the actual consumption of the drink. The presentation was lovely and it tasted pretty good but the main comment from my guests was the it was “chewy.” Drinks are supposed to chewy, right? All in all I’m glad that I made them but probably wouldn’t make them again.

Actually, last week I was in a tropical locale drinking a couple of mojitos… that’s why I’ve neglected my blog a little bit. I wouldn’t recommend a 2-day trip to Costa Rica but I would highly recommend traveling there for a little longer. I was there to visit 2 different hotels for site inspections for a group trip for my company. Do I have a great job or what? At one hotel I had a Mediterranean mojito which was made with basil instead of mint and it was awesome.

Another reason that I’ve neglected the blog a lot is that I’ve become thoroughly addicted to Pinterest. If you haven’t heard about Pinterest, you’ve got to check it out. I’ve been spending more time there than on foodgawker if you can believe it.  You can even follow me there it you want.

Honeydew, Mint, and Lemon-Thyme Mojito

(from Aran Goyoaga of Cannelle et Vanille as published in Everyday Food, Summer 2011 issue)

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves, plus sprigs for serving
  • 3 sprigs lemon thyme (or regular thyme, plus 1 Tbsp finely grated lemon zest)
  • 1/2 honeydew melon, rind removed, seeded, flesh cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup light rum
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice (from 3 limes), plus wedges for serving

In a small saucepan, combine sugar and 1/4 cup water over medium heat; stir until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat, add mint and lemon-thyme, and let sit 10 minutes. Pour through a fine-mesh sieve, discard solids. Refrigerate until cold, 20 minutes (or up to 1 week).

In a blender, combine mint syrup, melon, rum, and lime juice; blend until smooth. To serve, fill four glasses with ice and divide mojito among glasses. Top with fresh mint and lime wedges, if desired.

I would rate this recipe  3 stars.

